sometimes things fall into a place for a moment or even for a half an hour and things are good and right in the world.

I went to the store to get a soda...... and as I was driving home there was the most spectacular sunset that I just caught the last few minutes of. it had been a hot day, so it was still warm and there was a breeze. my window was rolled down. the radio was playing great music, I was almost home but I just couldn't make myself turn onto my street so I kept driving. wasn't going anywhere specific...... if I ended up in a turn lane I turned... kinda let my car lead where it wanted to go. the dj complied and kept playing songs I didn't know I wanted to hear. I smoked and drank my coke and just drove and it was wonderful. not sure exactly where I went, but I had never been there before. and if i hadn't been all by myself it would have been a moment that people write songs about. but I was by myself and even that was ok. it was almost as if I had taken myself out on a date and I just wasn't ready to take myself home yet because I liked my company so much..... so I went for a drive and held my own hand and it was lovely. I think in my loneliness and my wanting to have people near me I had forgotten how nice it is to spend time by myself sometimes.

then again having someone sitting next to me in the car would have been nice to, but being alone didn't take anything away from the moment.

simple.

smiling and driving and singing. and things were good. and things are good.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2001-06-18 / 9:44 p.m.
simple things