a few notes on doing overnighters at work.....

it's really strange to be in a department store after it's been closed for hours and there is hardly anyone there. It's really quiet and the lights go out at random times since they are on a timer. You'll be sitting in a corner working on a project and then it'll be all dark.

It never fails that during an overnighter there is always soemone working with you that you just can't stand. And about 2am when you're on the elevator with them wanting to scream at them to shut up. You start to think that if for some reason you were stuck inside there they would be the first ones you would kill and eat. even if you weren't hungry, just to make them go away.

you never finish everything you set out to accomplish. You work your ass off don't a take a lunch and you still only get to maybe half of what you needed to get done.

There are stages of moods during an overnighter.

the first mode is around 8 when you get there, and it's the "I'm going to get so much done tonight." mode. basically you're working as fast as you possibly can, taking no short cuts. (of course when I'm trying to get things done I have that guy who feels the need to tackle me when I'm in a bad modd following me around telling me how nice I look and how great I smell and that I look like Winona Ryder in Mr. Deeds. It's hard to be flattered because he looks like he's about 12 and he's kinda weird.)

Around 10 when all the day people leave you start to get a little tired and a little frustrated because you've made a huge mess trying to fix whatever it is your working on and you really wish you were going home like everyone else is.

11 is the second wind when you start to get a little slap happy. you've gotten alot of things done and climbing up on a table and dancing, just because no one is there and you could. (This was about the time that M and I started running up and down the aisles body checking each other. I also found out at this time that during the 7 second walk from the lunchroom to the elevator I can eat an entire snickers bar in 3 bites)

between midnight and one you lay on the floor and cry because it's late and you've lost all concept of what you were there to in the first place and you know you're never going to finish and you're never ever going to get to go home.

at 2 all you can think about is going home and that were this a normal day you would have to be up in three hours to come to work. This is when everyone is grouchy and when you're talking about what you're going to do next there i a lot of throwing hands up in the air, rolling eyes, and walking away muttering "Fine, if that's how you want to do it, that's how we'll do it." At two thirty everyone figures out that how they wanted to do it was dumb and you start over doing it your own way.

I left around three this morning and came home and I'll go back tonight at 5 and work until ten. my body is going to hate me for having this wacky schedule where I don't sleep during normal hours (hence why I woke up at 9 and couldn't go back to bed.)

last night I was just hating everything about my job. This is so not what I want to do with my life. I don't know what it is that I want to do but this isn't it, so I'm a half a step closer to figuring out what it is that I want to do.

my old manager was whining how she wants me to come back and work for her and how it's not fair that no one comes to help her. I just kind of shrugged, it wasn't like I chose to have my position eliminated.

looks like a full weekend. dinner and a movie with D on Friday.....

Saturday I'm might go and watch the Kings rookie training camp with the boys. (that is going to rule. a little hockey in the middle of my summer!) and then off to the club. not sure how that is going to go. eyebrow ring boy will probably be there and I don't know if I should hang out with him or shine him. he's cute and all but it's not like we're gonna date or anything. we are both fully aware that we have nothing in common so maybe it won't even be an issue.

ps. for got this little funny thing that happened yesterday morning. M and I were helping Yolie make butt cheeks out of ballons (don't ask. it involves some display merch we never got so we were improvising) and we got inot a conversation about American women and how they feel about their bodies. we got into the endless search for cleavage which involved a lot of grabbing our own chests and moving them around there where we would like them to be. I bet security saved that tape even with no audio. Yolie gave me some good advice... that 10 years from now we're gonna wish we have the bodies we have now so we might as well be daring and show it off while we've got it. she also made the brilliant observation when I said "You know what I need....." her answer was "To get laid." I was going to say a mid length jean skirt but I think she was more on the money than I was.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2002-07-11 / 9:28
it's bad enough I have to go there during the day