I slept in pretty darn late this morning. Well late for me at least. Usually I wake up around 7 no matter what time I went to bed and then go back to sleep, but I must have been crashed out something fierce because I didn't hear my roomates come home last night (scratch that.... early this morning) and I slept straight through until just after 10..... I was pretty wiped out last night when I got home though.

We went to dinner last night with some of D's friends and it was actually more fun than I thought it would be.

Then we went and caught about 4 songs on the Femmes set at the fairgrounds. I have never seen so many people singing along to a band. Everyone was singing. It was pretty damn great. It must have started earlier than we thought it did because we just barely caught the end of the whole deal. It wasn't even 9 yet at the end of the show so we decided to go catch Grant downtown.

I was a little worried we had missed him but sure enough he was still there.

I should make a confession, I haven't gone to see him play in awhile because I was a little worried about who would show up. His circle of admirers is filled with people I don't really get along with, though I should have relized I haven't seen these people in years so what would it matter. I was also a little wary of his reaction. We've always only been tentitively friends and he was closer to people that I don't see anymore. He seemed a little shocked to see me cruising up the stairs with my lovely caramel frappacino but it was all good. He played quite a set. I've missed going and hearing him play because he's damn talented.

There was someone I could live without ever seeing again there. But it was all good. D knew right off that the people at the other table were people I must have known because they kept looking at us oddly but we made it through incident free. I overheard a conversation during the break that sounded like a story that happened out at my mom's house a few years ago so I'm not sure what that was all about. And I wasn't about to go find out..... there was some interesting conversation on our part about how that person and the people he was with felt this need to prove to everyone in the room that they were in the know. How they ahd to prove they were "close, personal" friends of Grant.... I remember those days. shameful really. Though I thought it was pretty funny how he stopped almost mid song to ask me how I was doing.....

Grant was fabulous though, even did two hilarious Bon Jovi covers that had Vince and I rolling.

It was a good night, and if any of you are in the San Diego area Thursday night and want to hear someone with a great voice play guitar, sing some funny songs, and some not so funny songs they should go to Lestats and see Grant play this week. Maybe he'll even wear his mullet shirt.....

I'm thinking about seeing if he would learn to cover "American Music" for me just because I think that would be a funny song for him to do..... mostly it's just because I love that song.... wait or as the cool kids would say I (heart) that song..... who am I kidding I've never been a cool kid.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2002-08-18 / 10:37
I (heart) the music.......