I had an opportunity to see what Joe Breadwinner does..... I sat in on a recording of one of his bands. I even got to push buttons and stuff. He says I get credit for it, which is hilarious since all I did was sit there, push two buttons on cue, listen to the song, count to ten, and then push one button. I somehow don't think that is credit worthy but whatever. Recording is an interesting process, I don't know how he does it..... hears every tiny little mistake. I've never been musically inclined to me it's either good or bad.... he picks out all the little boo boos I would never hear.

I read Animal Farm in it's entirety somewhere in there too. I never read it in high school. I think I could be the only person in America that didn't have that as required reading. I also manage my way through 20 pages of Stillife with Woodpecker by Tom Robbins. He has quite a style all his own, though after just finishing Jitterbug Perfume, and attempting to start Another Roadside Attraction I may get a little burned out because there are certain things that make all of his books similar. One you can figure out which way it's going it's pretty good, but it can be a long road to clarity. But when you find things like this paragraph the journey is worth it.

Who knows how to make love stay?

1. Tell love you are going to Juniors Deli on Flatbush Avenue in Brooklyn to pick up a cheesecake, and if love stays, it can half. It will stay.

2. Tell love you want a memento of it and obtain a lock of it's hair. Burn the lock of hair in a dime-store incense burner with yin/yang symbols on three sides. Face southwest. Talk fast over burning hair in a convincingly exotic language. Remove the ashes of burnt hair use them to paint a mustache on your face. Fine love. Tell it you are someone new. It will stay.

3. Wake love up in the middle of the night. Tell it the world is on fire. Dash to the beedroom window and pee out of it. Casually return to bed and assure love that everything is going to be alright. Fall asleep. Love will be there in the morning.

reminds me of some of the answers I used to give on my chemistry questions that were assigned at the end of each chapter.

I'm thinking I may head north on Weds to see Liz and the boys but I'm not sure yet. It's been awhile since I've headed up so it could be lots of fun just depends on how wiped out I am by Weds.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2003-09-12 / 10:35
Love according to Tom Robbins... and other stuff