Slowly updates have trickled in, pretty much my entire family lives in San Diego county, the only people's houses who were not threatened were mine and my grandmother's. everyone else, my mother, both my uncles, various surrogate aunt's and uncles......

I can not say how lucky it's been, we all still have houses.

I wish I could take some photos of my front porch..... covered in ash and we're miles and miles from anything burning.

I'm actually going into work today. I was suppose to be off but I know some of the closing managers were evacuated this weekend and we still don't know if they have houses. besides I was off yesterday because of this mess.

I stopped in yesterday just to see how things were going, they were clsoing at 5. The place was a ghost town.... 40 people had called in not able to make it.

when I was downstairs talking to some of the girls that work in the department, I've probably never mentioned I'm an assistant department manager in a major department store..... 6 tourists from out of the country wanted to know if anything in the amll was open, whih it was not and we were closing in 20 minutes, and they seemed to get bent that we were closing early. before I could stop myself I looked at them as if they were insane and said "You do know our entire city is on fire right?" All you had to do was look out the window and see the ash raining down and the sun was almost completely blocked out for a most of the day, idiots.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2003-10-28 / 11:07
more fire junk