Today blew.

I mean it blew.

I was an honest to God danger to myself and others.

First off I was suppose to go in at 5 because of the district chiquita coming in which means getting up at 4am, oh but guess what the brain trust did. Set the alarm for PM. woke up at 5am was at work by 6 luckily. Walking up the sidealk into work I'm thinking, "shit what bright light did I look into? I don't remember looking into any lights there are none the sun isn't even completely up." because I have one of those afterimages, like when you look at the sun. oh it's a migraine spot. yippee.

2 in one week.

I'm not feeling a little stressed, not at all.

over the curse of the next hour or so the spot grows. and grows until pretty much everything in my vision is this pulsing waterwall. but I'm not sick to my stomach and the headache hasn't hit yet, so we're in buisness. it's not like I can go home anyhow. so I'm at the top of the 7 foot ladder changing wall hardware, clutching to top of the ladder about every 30 seconds or so. (I know brilliant, this is why I work retail for a living and don't operate on people's brains and stuff.... I'm not very smart.)

and then I made the dumbest mistake of all. Yes, that's right. I asked for help. I must have been high. I wish I had that excuse. She basicaly accused me of sitting my ass the day before and doing nothing. I had done everything on the walk through checklist except this one thing I was asking to her to help with. So while sitting on her ass and shooting the shit with another person on the team she waved me off that she would be down "later" because she was far too "busy" I briefly thought how a career flipping burgers might work out for me, and relized there were too many things in my locker for me to carry out at once so if I quit right then it really wouldn't be dramatic enough. you know quitting and slamming the door behind you and then coming back to get the rest of your stuff somehow not as cool looking.

So I trudged on. at one point laying on the floor in a pile of bathrobes yelling "I can't do this!" I thought about burying myself in them and seeing if I would suffocate, but somoene who have just saved me and I would just be a little more brain dead than I am now.

another person on the visual team did my boss's job and helped me out so I finally finished what I was working on with out ripping my hair out.

pretty soon my vision cleared and the headache came on with something new and exciting.... dizziness. another thing that is not good to have while climbing ladders and hanging from the ceiling. at one point I climbed down and looked up to see if what I had just moved was stright and proptly fell to the floor. I was aware I was going to fall backwards and dropped to my knees before I cracked my head open on something.

about that time I made M babysit me and make sure if she didn't see for awhile it wasn't because I was laying on the floor somewhere.

The day just went on from there. The highlight being scaring the daylights out of myself and others by almost falling from a ladder backwards. eh, the customers milling around at that point would have broken my fall.

all that and I only took a fifteen minute lunch in order to get everything done. and they still made me stay until the exact time I was off and not a minute sooner.

X Y


1 now
2 before
3 me
4 they said
5 you say
6 diaryland
2002-07-25 / 6:13
all in a day's work........